Battered

I've put up a picture of this place before - I can't remember how long ago - and I expect I wrote about how I love dilapidated buildings, structures no longer in use, that are slowly being reclaimed by the elements.

I drove past it again today, although I hadn't planned to; broken down vehicles were blocking two of the local lanes. It's certainly more battered, more decrepit than last time I took a photo of it, although I've no idea how much of that is down to this weekend's weather.

When I finally got home, I changed and went for a run, in the unexpected sunshine. Along the lane to High Casterton, I came across a flooded stretch maybe fifty yards long. I was less than a mile into the run and couldn't bear to turn back, so I half ran/half waded through it. The water was cold but strangely pleasant and I soon warmed up on the far side. 

I recently tweeted my friend, Jane, about getting one's feet wet running, so on the way back, I stopped in the middle and filmed the puddle and my feet on Instagram. However, when I got home to upload it, it was gone :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.