Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Thelma

Thelma is a really warm, but reserved, person.  She was really excited to host bunco for us in December this year so she could decorate for Christmas and have special treats for us.

[Bunco is a fast-paced 3-dice game when you attempt to roll 1's then 2's then 3's etc, in rounds. One point for each of the number you roll is awarded.  There are three tables of four people each. The head table playing to 21 signaling the end of that round.  The two person team with the most points win.  Then everyone moves.  before you know it, you have partnered - and laughed - with everyone..]

Most of the group is in the Italian Club at our church, but Thelma lives 30 miles outside of town in Tubac and attends a very old church called St. Ann's.    I'm not sure how she got involved in this group of people but she's been in it for years.  I really like her. 

She served these little pieces of cold pizza that where my favorite of all the things she served.  They had spinach, olives and pieces of artichoke hearts on them.  There was also this one cheese she served with crackers - I don't know what kind it was but it was delicious.  It was soft and had a unique but mild taste.  I don't usually go for stuff like that but I kept going back for it.  She had two candies in bowls which I hadn't had since I was a kid, too.  Peppermint Patties and Rollos.  I was in heaven.  I don't think I had an empty plate the entire time I was there!

Thelma was a wonderful host.  She had Christmas music playing softly in the background, which we could hardly hear because we were making so much noise(!), the food was great, and the house was decorated beautifully.  I had a great time with my friends.  All-in-all, a super start to my holiday season!

EDIT:  Blipfoto somehow previously messed with my blip, making my title disappear, or making some letters vanish. They also made half of the write-up italicized.  I hope it's straightened out now.  If it gets messed up again, please let me know. - Laurie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.