CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Woodpecker, and hesitant tit, in the rain

I have decided to stay at home today and even go back to bed for a few hours.  It is raining again and rather dismal.  Helena has been out delivering her goods to a nearby hamlet, all on foot and returned for a quick coffee before heading to Cheltenham on a bus from town.  I have a lot o organising to do w which hopefully I can do on a computer in bed. 
I got up to make some porridge while Helena went on her first trip and brewed her some coffee during her pitstop.

I then made a pot of percolated coffee for myself, so I can't be too sick, and while it was brewing on the gas cooker I stood standing inside the patio door, shooing away squirrels from the bird feeders.  A woodpecker joined the other birds at the feeders, so I quickly decided I would 'run' upstairs for my camera which I knew had the longest zoom on it from yesterday's jaunt.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the woodpecker hadn't flown away by the time I returned downstairs and quickly shot a couple of safety frames through the double-glazed patio doors.  Then I tried to gently slide the door so I could poke the lens out.  Luckily it didn't squeak too loudly and I managed a few shots of it pecking at the peanuts.  

I spotted several other birds hanging back from flying in to the sunflowers feeders as they had been doing earlier.  The woodpecker has quite a dominating presence.  Only the nuthatches and bullfinches seem unafraid of it.  Two tits hovered in the branch in the background one of which you can probably just spot.

This picture shows the woodpecker becoming aware of me cocking its head up and towards me, and within a couple of seconds it flew away into the tree in the field behind the garden.  A bullfinch arrived soon after and then a lovely noisy blackbird flew up into the tree only yards from me.  I feel sorry for them as they are difficult to fee, being mostly ground feeders. When I add food to the hanging trays, the pigeons and squirrels rush in and devour it all.  The dunnocks also have a hard time and flit in and amongst the branches of shrubs and hedges before dropping to search the ground beneath the feeders.  It is tough out there especially when it is raining as it was this morning..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.