PetronellaC

By PetronellaC

Wild flowers at Barrington Court

Barrington Court is a National Trust property in south Somerset, a great stone Tudor mansion with, beside it, a magnificent 17/18th century brick block, built originally as stables but later converted for human residence.
Recently the BBC took over the Tudor part for their series "Wolf Hall", based on Hilary Mantel's novel about Henry VIII's henchman Thomas Cromwell, and when we visited, the NT had been lent many of the (very authentic) costumes to be displayed in the rooms that had featured. If you want to know more, please try googling!
I took lots of photos inside and outside the house, but the one I have chosen has nothing to do with Thomas Cromwell or Henry and his wives; it is of wild flowers carefully cultivated in a small walled section of the large walled kitchen garden, probably to encourage bees and other pollinators.
(I am posting this in mid-December, with the darkness and drizzle already closing in; I have the picture as "wall-paper" on my laptop, to remind of me of a sunny and mild autumn day!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.