Flower Friday - Plus hover fly

I think this is a variety of euphorbia - it is a brilliant lime green in colour (No enhancing done). I was eyeing it up, wondering how I could capture it when along came this little hover fly. Problem solved.

I looked up the hover fly in my insect book and it tells me that the larvae of the hover fly are 'voracious predators of aphids' . Clever Mrs Hover Fly chooses plants heavily infested with aphids on which to lay her eggs. They will have plenty of fine dining in my garden.

There is another pic in the extras that I was temped to make the main blip - only it was a very small sized file and I thought Blip might not  accept it. It went into the extras o.k. though. In it the hover fly has a small companion which I cant identify. So, if anyone knows what it is, I would love to hear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.