Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Instant Calmer!

Battling my way through the throngs of Christmas shoppers in Liverpool city centre at lunchtime today, looking for a photo opportunity, I bumped into this guy. He’s called JD and he’s a Hare Krishna devotee, based at Bhaktivedanta Manor, Watford – home of the UK Krishna Consciousness movement. A building which was donated by that famous son of Liverpool, George Harrison.

JD asked about my camera and we got chatting about photography but ended up having quite a conversation about the Bhagavad Gita, mental health, Zen Buddhism, vegetarianism, meditation and, of course, George Harrison! It was fun talking to him.

The title of today's Blip may be a punning allusion to the work of John Lennon but, in the circumstances, today’s musical choice can only really be George's 'My Sweet Lord' www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kNGnIKUdMI

(I’ll dedicate it to Spokes – she’ll know why!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.