atoll

By atoll

Happy Mondays - Step On (Board)

Whistle-stop tour of Carlisle to make what I thought was a formal presentation to the Council, only to find it actually involved an informal discussion over lunch in a pleasent Italian restaurant. My Powerpoint was prepared in vain, but hey I wasn't complaining. It was very civilised, and softened the blow to the start of my working week.

Back at Carlisle Station, and waiting for my train home, I had been planning to photograph some train spotters from the train as it departed. I blew it though, as my only available seat was in between windows, and so my sly plan never happened.

As a back up, I had spotted this pair and thought I would check them out when I got home. I can only assume the display housings for the Hadrian Wall Country Line were intended to look like a Station Master's whistle. But were they meant to resemble the famous (with pea) ACME Thunderer or more likely (pealess) Tornado? Call me picky, but this design solution has blown it. ACME's website makes fascinating reading, including information on their 'First Performance Ratings Guidelines'. Phew (he whistles out loud).

In 2003 ACME launched the first two-man flying whistle called the ACME Meteor Prototype II. Designed by two artists called Renn & Thacker, their tongue-in-cheek plan was to drop it from 10,000 feet and have two parachutists pilot it around in a spiral. In the process it would break the world record for the loudest ever whistle. I mention this for no good reason, other than it seems a shame not to.

Read this while you whistle along to Step On from Happy Mondays (Listed here in the all time Top 10 Indie Tunes That Feature Whistling).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.