atoll

By atoll

Charles Henry Ashley

A late one again on Saturday, this time down at the Aukland Hotel in Menai Bridge, where Michael was performing a few numbers, including The Girl of My Best Friend recorded live for Youtube posterity. Elvis was in the building, and not working down the chip shop last night.

Today, heading back home but not before a short detour to Cemaes Bay on the other side of the island for a little explore and walkabout. Charles Henry Ashley is the name of the sail and oar driven Cemaes Classic Lifeboat that you can see in the harbour and dates from the early 20th century. After some recent conservation, it now takes young people people out on sail training days.

I was very taken with this very public-spirited and pretty seaside town today, and had forgotten just how nice it is (always easier when the sun is shining, admitedly, but I do like the cut of it's jib). It sits in the shadow of Wylfa Nuclear Power Station, which was always a major downer for me. More recently, thinking about the creative communities growing around Dungeness B power station in Romney Marsh (and remembering things like Derek Jarman's Prospect Cottage there), I am starting to think this hidden gem of Anglesey has similar potential.

I sold my small 22' yacht Scheherazade last year for cash-flow reasons, but am now thinking of maybe a nice little fishing boat instead. The thought of two-headed mutant fish glowing in the dark like those creatures in the film The Abyss, do enter my mind worryingly as I write this though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.