SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

A mossy stone

Decided I couldn't face trying to get out today with the bridge still closed and I didn't need to with plenty of things that needed doing from home. I rang the coalman to thank him for delivering and he was saying how difficult it has been delivering this way. I've also been pondering logistics and the impact of the A591 closure, as well as the practical, psychological and geographical implications. Ullswater still looking very quiet with no traffic and snowy tops looking over to Blencathra and the high fells.

Couldn't decide which mossy blip to post - any preferences ...?

I've always liked Divine Comedy's version of Wordsworth's Lucy Poems ....

She dwelt among the untrodden ways - William Wordsworth

She dwelt among the untrodden ways
Beside the springs of Dove,
A Maid whom there were none to praise
And very few to love:

A violet by a mossy stone
Half hidden from the eye!
Fair as a star, when only one
Is shining in the sky.

She lived unknown, and few could know
When Lucy ceased to be;
But she is in her grave, and, oh,
The difference to me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.