Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Made Something Nice Day 5

Sorry, the idea behind the old Blipfoto was that we were supposed to put up something to interest others each day but I'm going to say "Dot dot dot" to that and put up yet another picture of my box! Why! Because it's my journal and I'm absolutely thrilled with what I have done this week at The Wood Workshop!

Because I and #1 Daughter had our children "later in life" at a sensible age, I may not be around for my grandchildren's 18th birthdays so, I have made them both a box. This one is Emily's, lined in purple pigskin, my favourite colour!

What I have found out since I started to make the box is that what I called English walnut is, in fact, Cumbrian walnut from Dalston churchyard, very local and where a dear friend, who Christened Emily's mum, was minister there about the time the tree was felled. I will write this down and include it in the box, with a photo of the churchyard.

As with Daniel's box, I have included the hinge, stay hinges at £30 a pair deserve the careful attention I gave to the recess yesterday and the fitting today! I am really on a high having got this done and also got my Christmas card sorted, you'll see that soon!

BTW the wood hasn't been waxed yet because I still have to have Emily's name laser engraved onto the lid and mine onto the base.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.