Photographic musings

By Wheeliebloke

Illumination

Instantly my idea was to capture a glowing light bulb filament. OK...how would I do that? Do I have a suitable bulb? Most household bulbs are now energy saving variety and ones that aren't are usually opaque so you can't see the filament. I was going to meet a friend of mine for lunch so I took the camera with me. Maybe I could find a shop with lots of lamps in it and get a kind of abstract shot. 

Upon getting to the town where we lunched, I pretty much instantly regretted not putting my rucksack on the back of my chair with the camera in it. I always feel like a tourist if I have the camera hanging around my neck. 

Anyway, we had lunch and chatted about what's happened since the last time we met and just nearby was a church. On the drive to Uxbridge, I was pondering the theme of 'Illumination' set by PW. I didn't want to go down the predictable route of taking some tacky Christmas lights, that was too obvious. I thought of an alternative meaning of the theme; to illuminate a manuscript or similar. So I headed in to the church, a very rare occurrence indeed but we have to suffer for our art sometimes. I looked around for something suitable and after some searching with assistance from my friend Rachel, I saw today's pic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.