Mixed emotions

I bought a half price 'bird feeding station' about a month ago.  It's been blown over 4 times since I erected it and I haven't seen anything but fat pigeons (picking up the spilt peanuts) interested in any of the offerings.

Yesterday for the first time a breeze of blue tits blew in and delighted me with their antics.  Today I managed to catch a photo.  

I should be happy that they have discovered this new source of food.

BUT 

Last night one of the cats brought in a goldfinch, around 9pm.  We managed to get it off her and I locked the cats in the house and left it in a box, under a lean-to, dry and safe, to recover.  This morning it was gone and I was hopeful it was fine, but around midday  a dog walker alerted us to the fact there was an injured bird at the front of our house. It was the goldfinch, which was lively enough that I couldn't catch it, but it couldn't fly.

So what to do?  I'd already put bells on the cats.  So, I think I'm going to have to retire the feeding station :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.