Dancersend

By Dancersend

Favourite tree

Actually, I have at least six favourite trees at the nature reserve. I'm a bit promiscuous with my favours, depending on the time of year, weather conditions and my own state of mind. Today we had one of our regular work parties and gathered in heavy drizzle, slippery mud and a sense of foreboding about the day ahead. However, the rain eased (after I had struggled valiently to get a bonfire going!) and it turned out to be a mild and pleasant day. From lunchtime the mist descended on the valley making it quite cosy to be coppicing and scrub cutting in our woodland clearing...now with a roaring bonfire. During a break in proceedings I wandered down to our meadow where this favourite tree - a Goat Willow, or Sallow - has delighted me at different times of year for over thirty years. I fear the partly rotten boughs are going to collapse soon and can only hope there will be enough life left in the stool to drive some new growth.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.