Grandfather's land

When my father died in 2013, my brother and I took over the distribution of our grandfather's  estate. He had been a successful house builder  in between the wars and when he died in 1980 he still owned a piece of land that he had bought in the 1950s but it was nearly completely surrounded by houses he had built. He had left a thin strip of land as access which might have been wide enough for a car in the 50s but  by the 70s the land was inaccessible and had become a dumping  ground for rubbish from the surrounding houses as well as a haven for Japanese knotweed.  Wind forward to 2014.     My brother and I acting as trustees for Grandfather's estate sold the land with planning permission for 9 houses.  Today I went to see what the developers had done with it. It looks great, there are 9 houses, all lived in. My only disappointment was the name of the new road.    Many surrounding roads are "Portnalls " something after the farm that had been there for hundreds of years.  My choice would have been Portnalls Way but we got no say because we had sold it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.