RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Almost There

Instead of watching and photographing the Diá de Guadalupe Processions, we spent the early evening releasing turtles at our friend's house on Playa Blanca. It is a beautiful setting for giving these little guys a chance at life. Today we had two tubs, each containing 50-75 hatchlings. We spread them on the sand, near the water and watched them make their way to the sea. I was not going to take photos as I have lots and lots of turtle, but the minute they hit the sand I was after them with my camera. There is something about their struggle that demands documentation (to the tune of 300 or so shots this time). Made it hard to choose just one, but in the end I liked the hopefulness of this lone turtle just inches from his goal. It also shows why many of them don't make it on their own as they can't seem to track a straight path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.