An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Birthday Eve...

The day started well and got better!

The newest recruit to Alan's support team visited for the first time this morning to meet Alan.  Charlene is in her twenties, very attractive, experienced in care giving and has a good sense of humour.   I don't think any of us were surprised when Alan granted her his approval.  :-)

It was quite funny as Anna got him up and dressed while I chatted with Charlene and the plan was once he was ready and watching tv, I would take Charlene through and introduce them.   

When I asked him if he was ready to meet her he kept saying no!   I asked him if he felt shy and he did.  Awww.   I told him it would be fine as Charlene loves Christmas music (he's obsessed with the Christmas music tv channels!) so called Charlene through and the big introduction was made.

He stared at her for a second or two then smiled THE biggest smile and got very animated.   Left them together for a few minutes then it was time for him to come to the kitchen for lunch.  Well, I have never known him to eat lunch so quickly!   Drink, lunch, dessert and teeth brushing all over and done with in half an hour so he could get back to Christmas TV and Charlene!!!   Phew!  That's a relief!  

She officially starts in January and will be shadowing the other support workers until she's done all her induction training and is confident to care for Alan on her own.  I am really pleased he's taken to her and I think it gave her a bit of a confidence boost too.  They're already talking about what they will do and where they will go when she officially starts working.

Then later on this afternoon Grandpa and Norma arrived for a visit so that was him hyper again!!!   He loved showing off his new poster that LeeAnne gave him on Saturday.  Grandpa appreciated it too!  :-)))

When they left I headed back to the study to wrap David's birthday pressies for tomorrow.   He is so difficult to buy for as when you ask him what he wants, he says nothing!!!  Well that's not going to happen as he deserves the world on a plate, but will have to settle for two special gifts, that I really hope he likes, and a pile of mediocre tat not so special gifts.   The good news is there are no socks in the gift pile I've reserved them for Christmas :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.