An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Last Forty-Something Birthday...

Backblip


How can this be his last birthday before the Big 5-0?!  It seems like only weeks ago we were gearing up for our 40ths!

December birthdays are rubbish not quite as rubbish as January birthdays and a Wednesday birthday in December, when you've been working, doesn't seem like much fun BUT his lovely boss (no not me, he real boss!) made him a huge Victoria sponge cake so that sweetened the day at work considerably.  She put me and my little shop bought lemon drizzle cake to shame.

Still he did come home to a dinner of sirloin steak, chunky chips and my buttery, garlic, goat's cheese and breadcrumbed mushrooms.  And a rather nice bottle of red.  And a Coldplay ticket.  And a book.  And aftershave.  And golf balls.  And a giant toblerone.  And.....actually I think I better stop there!  :D

In other news, Billy the painter popped in to arrange to paint our downstairs WC which is still a mess since it was replastered (ages ago!!) after a roof leak.   One of his guys will be back on Friday morning to freshen it up.   I happened to mention that our ensuite and bedroom were needing done too but that I'd speak to him about that in the New Year.  He went and had a look and then announced he can get them done Monday & Tuesday next week!!

I can't decided whether I'm delighted that they will be done before Christmas or dreading the upheaval when, having made such an effort to be organised for Christmas, I was looking forward to a relaxing run up to the big day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.