Ghost of Kings Wark

I walked down the Kirkgate today and saw Mary Moriarty rattling a collection can; she was collecting for the Leith Festival. She was beside a bunch of schoolkids in Santa hats singing a remarkably untuneful version of 'S. Claus is coming to town'. Think I'd have put two quid in her can instead of one if they hadn't been there.... Couldn't take a photo of the elegant Mary unfortunately - too many kids milling about.

On my way back I noticed this faded old sign, which I have noticed before but never photographed. It's on the corner of a building that now has the address of 16, Chapel Lane. All that remains of the Kings Wark is the pub of that name which is on the far corner of the block, some distance away. No wonder the delivery drivers get lost around here. The writing above says SPIRITS and that may be a bit of LIQUOR underneath the sign itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.