SIGNS

By Mickky

Shall

The modal, shall, with a third person subject. I learned the use of shall in a declarative sentence is well preserved in British English; in American English its usage seems virtually limited to an interrogative sentence, as in shall we...?. I'd like to know more about how different English varieties deal with the modal verb.

The last sentence in this sign, 'You have been warned,' looks interesting as well, which definitely bears a strong message represented by capital letters as well as an underline. I don't think I've ever seen a Japanese sign that conveys the same message as this one does.

Got relieved to finish a peer presentation today. I had been very nervous, but it's over now! After that I had a cake at a university cafe to spoil myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.