Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The boat at Squiddies

A sunset for a change. For weeks it hasn't really amounted to much and for once I was at Squiddies when the colour came.  This boat is a relatively new addition.  It must belong to the hotel which is behind where I am standing here.  I rather miss that dilapidated jetty.

We missed the big storm up here and while it's been cloudy all day as you can see it cleared this evening.  Southern suburbs of Sydney seem to have got the worst of it.

Thanks so much for the response to the focus stacking.  If you are interested in how it was done, read on, otherwise, nighty night.    The set up is in the extra.  This was the weekends version not what I did yesterday as I had moved it away from the back door and had the tripod resting on a table and chair but the principle is the same.  Glycerin drops as many as you like (put on with an eyedropper or syringe) on a very clear perspex not glass as they seem to hold their shape better and just ooze on glass.  An image of something inverted below it ( I used a pic of Hamish).  Then you taken a series of 8 or so (sometimes I did 10 but yesterdays was 8) shots at a different focus starting with the end of the drop in focus and finishing with the perspex in focus.  Load into Photoshop and process from there.  There was a rather useful tutorial here that I watched.  It refers to CS4 but I found the functions on my CS6.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.