FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Surprise Book

Among the 'Great Gift Ideas' book pile in Waterstone's today, between 'The life changing magic of tidying' and 'Our Garden Books', I discovered the latest book by my journalist chum David Long: 'A History of London in 100 Places'.

There's always something quite special about seeing a newly published book for sale by someone you know. I remember David was putting the finishing touches to the book last spring which he told me about it during a visit to Leeds Castle.

I tried to impress him with my newly learnt knowledge of some of the lesser known facts of the Castle's history in my role as interim PR Officer and I seem to recall David giving me a few nuggets of information too!

His latest book takes you on a journey through 2,000 years of history of 'the world's most vibrant capital' through 100 places to tell the story.

I was short on time today so will return tomorrow to buy the book as a Christmas present to myself. The book gives me the perfect excuse to seek out some of those undiscovered places in London and hopefully catch up with David in the new year for a traditional cup of tea and a personalised autograph.

Caught up on the BBC coverage of the first broadcast from astronaut Tim Peake as he arrived at the International Space Station this evening. I'm watching with added interest as he's Sussex born and bred like me.

Such a contrast to be thinking of 2,000 years of London history versus the innovation and wonder of space travel.

Happy Wednesday Blip followers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.