FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Morning in the life of...

Today's Blip was meant to be a 'Day in the Life of me' but it all went a bit crazy this afternoon (for reasons I can't go into right now) so this is a 'morning in the life of me' instead.

**Note - any similarities to Bridget Jones' character are entirely plausible and not contrived or intentional.

I hope this minute by minute journal makes you giggle rather than bore you to tears!

6:15
Wake up to my old fashioned alarm clock ringing its bell. Switch it off and roll over.

6:22
Press snooze on my iPhone alarm and work out I've only been in bed three hours seven minutes on account of falling asleep on the sofa last night only to wake up after two hours with a stiff neck.

7:32
Open my eyes thinking something's up as it's almost daylight. It's normally still dark at 6:30. Realise that's because it's 7:32!!! Roll over onto my alarm clock which I appeared to be hugging like a teddy bear. Arghhhh.

7:34
After two minutes procrastinating further I leap out of bed. Pull open the curtains to a beautiful pink sky and grab my phone for a photo (perfect for my Blip I think) then jump into the shower.

7:44
Slap on some make up (or Polyfiller as my air show buddies call it) then pull on a pair of purple tights. I can't find any black or grey ones so they'll have to do. Well they sort of go with a navy skirt covered in red, grey and white hearts don't they?

7:48
Haul the recycling crate through the house and dribble water in my wake. I haven't got time to take it the normal route down the side alley.

7:52
Thank goodness for mild weather. No de-icing of the car needed today. Wave at Keith from the village newsagent as I climb into the car.

8:02
Stuck behind a tractor on the country lane. Hurry up!

8:11
Arrive at train station with just five minutes to spare. Quick march up the platform to the front of the train for speedy change at Tonbridge.

8:17
Train departs Headcorn only one minute late thankfully as I normally get the earlier one. Plug in my headphones to Strauss Intermezzo part II and read 'The Brief - Things You Need to Know Today' which is a daily email with breaking news and current events.

8:42
Five minutes to make the connection for my train. Dash into the Platform 3 coffee shop and order my soya latte to go. The barista starts chatting. Seriously what is WRONG with people?!! No talking before coffee. Ever. Pretend I can't hear with my headphones in and just smile.

8:47
Text dad good morning message and send a photo of me wearing a hat he likes.

8:56
The ticket barrier guard at Tunbridge Wells compliments me on my "nice fluffy hat" bringing a smile to my face as it's the one dad likes too. Clearly a winner!

8:57
Switch music to dance anthems to motivate me to power walk the 0.56 mile uphill hop to the office.

9:06
Make it to my desk rather flushed from my walk and spend the next few minutes watching a video of my colleague's 4 year old daughter's nativity play. Cute!

9:15-10:30
Scan business and industry news alerts for client press coverage and editorial opportunities. Schedule social media posts for an airport lounge client meanwhile debate with the girls in the office how best to pitch a hotel chef story this week.

10:44-10:55
Office excitement as we hear a colleague may be coming in the office with their Cockapoo doggie this afternoon. Discuss various friends and family dogs and look at each other's photos. Then back to writing a client activity report.

11:21
Convince my account director to buy me lunch one day next week to make up for not bringing in the dog today afterall.

11:53
Eat a mince pie while reading tweets about the International Space Station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.