Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Off the record

A phone blip, so apologies for the quality of the image...

I've not been in a music store in ages! Popped in here to get an Elvis Presley CD and just as I reckoned, they didn't really have a decent album of his. No Greatest Hits that showcased his work. Oh well. Took the next best thing which is a compilation CD of Elvis's best "party songs".

Couldn't help noticing the LP record section that is blooming. They had some classic Dire Straits albums. The sharp eyed among you will notice the iconic Making Movies sleeve. Nice to see it after all these years. The price of them is just ridiculous though. Over £25 per album! Why people would pay that, I have no idea. More money than sense me thinks especially when you think of all the hard work and research that was done to take out surface noise. Please don't get me wrong, I still have all my old 33s and 45s, but someone is definitely laughing all the way to the bank at the price these are now retailing for. Maybe I could cash in?

And before this, we were at Monty's at the Address Montgomerie (named after the golf course it sits on designed by Colin Montgomorie himself) meeting fellow co-owners of the apartment block we're part of in Cyprus. Very interesting and good to get together to share stories and other tales of woe. I met a lady called Louise Armstrong. How cool is that?

Too late and too tired to blip last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.