Just visiting

I don’t really like to think of myself as unobservant but I think it’s probably true; I don’t tend to spot people in a crowd.  I’m the same in an antique shop.  Some people can home in on an amazing find; I see a haze of paraphernalia.

I was spotted today by our old next door neighbours.  It was nice to have a light-hearted natter about Christmas plans and banter about how the neighbourhood has deteriorated since they left the vicinity.  On a roll and with a cheeky raised eyebrow, J went on to comment on my inappropriate attire for Ilkley high street.  With Little Dog, I’d walked to the bank this morning over the moors in my daily outdoors outfit (although with my trousers recently washed and less muddy than usual, for me, I was quite refined!) 

Amused by this, I pondered on the train home about how I see the world of people.  I definitely walk around in a little bubble.  Detached.  Unaware.  Almost like I’m visiting sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.