stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Candy

While I was away I came to realise just how self conscious I'd become carrying the 5D around. I'm ok with other photographers or when I'm unlikely to come across many people. However, when I'm on my own on the streets it's a struggle. As a result, while I was in Perth and to a lesser degree in Melbourne, the camera largely stayed in the bag so what I ended up doing was lumping around a huge weight for little return. Coming home I decided I would get a wee compact to carry about when I'm just wandering. 2016 is going to be the year of get fit - again - so I'll be doing more walking and if I'm going to get back into blipping regularly...

I couldn't justify the £2.5k to get the upcoming full frame Sony RX1R II and after reading and watching a few reviews it became a straight choice between the Sony RX100 IV or this, the Fujifilm X100T. For the first time since I started buying cameras, a Canon never came into the picture.

By all accounts the Sony is an excellent camera and almost all reviews I saw gushed over the peerless performance in its class. But something kept pulling me back to the X100T and in spite of the lower resolution sensor, the fixed lens, the non-articulated screen, the larger dimensions and extra weight it's the one I finally plumped for.

Now I have it in my greasy mitts I'm loving it even more than I did watching the reviews... even before I've taken any shots. It's metal, solid with clunky dials and the feel of a camera that belongs in a different era. Under the hood though are some great features and from what I've heard, the ability to take amazing images. I'm looking forward to seeing what it can do.

Time to play.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.