*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

351/365: Do not go gentle into that good night

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Sunsets like this one always make me think of the Dylan Thomas poem. It's one of my favourites.

I was lucky enough to see Bob Kingdom doing his Return Journey tour many years ago. He looks like Dylan Thomas and he sounds like Dylan Thomas. Spookily so. When he recited "Do not go gentle into that good night" there was a storm outside and the thunder was rattling the Crucible theatre... it literally gave me goosebumps. An experience I hopefully will never forget. As a Dylan Thomas fan, it was the closest I was ever going to get to seeing the real thing.

I'm down in Sheffield for Christmas now, and was welcomed to the People's Republic of South Yorkshire with a beautiful sunset. The first for a while. It was so lovely that it wasn't until afterwards that I noticed they've replaced the lovely old 1960s lampposts on my parents' road with those bright, ugly modern ones :(

My brother and family are coming up from Bath tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing everyone.

Added an extra of a sunset from 2011 - with the familiar lamppost I grew up with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.