Visitor

I love these little visitors. It cooled down a little this evening as I sat next to hubby on the top step and put my new camera through its paces.

I spent today sewing with my mum in law. It was good to get it started.

Then a phone call from my mum a little later. We were playing card games with the girls, so we kept it brief.

Suddenly, Mr B shouted that there was a fire. I called 000 to find that the CFA were already on their way. A house, three doors down from us, had plumes of smoke reaching far into the sky.

Mr B raced out to see if he could help, while I stayed indoors with the girls and Cousteau.

Later, we found out that Mr B had helped to carry a young man out of the burning house, assisting another brave young man. In the end, the house is a write off, but no-one was badly hurt, so I guess we thank God for small mercies.

Our little street was the scene of flashing lights and emergency vehicles. I am very proud of hubby for taking action, but am glad I didn't know he was entering the house at the time. He assures me that he took a calculated risk; he's not going to put himself danger.

Little Miss went to bed still full of anxiety and excitement, but soon managed to drop off to sleep. 

We sat outside and talked for a while before succumbing to sleep ourselves.

Our prayers and thoughts are with the poor family who have lost their home. We are told that it's time of high risk with hot, hot weather and strong winds forecast. We are all being vigilant and careful.

Night all.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.