BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Interlude

I was in the waiting room
at the Doctor’s. Outside
it was raining. Through
the plate glass I could see
people hurrying
and puddles forming.
I was reading High Fidelity

but became distracted
by the sound of singing.


There was a Music Therapy
session going on in a room close by.
It was mostly male voices. I
could pick out the occasional
female one. They were singing
Let’s Go Fly A Kite. A bit flat
at times but their enthusiasm
made up for that.


And I was moved. Perhaps by
the amateurism of it and that
they were going at it full throttle
and that it was doing them good.
Perhaps because it’s near Christmas
and because, well, when you’re
sitting there with your symptoms
waiting to see a doctor
you can never be sure
what the outcome might be.
So you start to appreciate things.


High Fidelity

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.