HAPPY CHRISTMAS, JOHN AND SALLY!

We went for our usual Saturday morning coffee at The Old Bank and met our various friends, then I left Mr. HCB chatting while I went out to look for something to blip.  I intended finding an old building for the Derelict Sunday challenge (which can be done on any other day, in case you think I have lost it!) and had taken quite a few photographs, when I saw this man struggling up the hill.

As I walked towards him, I encouraged him by telling him he was nearly at the top - you may think this is flat, but behind him is quite a steep and long hill.

I asked if I could take a photograph of him and he was happy to oblige.  He told me it had taken him a long time to get to this point from where he lived at the bottom of the hill as not only did he have mobility problems, which was why he had this walking aid, but he also had problems with his lungs.

I said I would walk with him as I was meeting my husband, after we had been for our morning coffee - when he said he was on his way to The King’s Arms.  I jokingly asked if he was going in there for a “quick snifter” to which he replied “I don’t do anything quick these days!”

We chatted some more and I asked what he was doing for Christmas;  he said he would be staying at home - so thinking he may be on his own, and knowing our Church prepares lunch for people on their own, I asked whether he would be alone on Christmas Day, but he said he would be with his wife.

We then met Mr. HCB coming round the corner, so I introduced John to John.  I said my husband wouldn’t be surprised to see I was “chatting up” a young man - and Mr. HCB told John he was quite used to it!

We took our leave of John, both wishing each other a Happy Christmas and as we were walking back to the car, saw another friend, Sally, in an ice cream shop with her husband and two little girls.  They had just been to see Santa Claus - and were very excited, as most young children are a week before the BIG day.  We wished them a Happy Christmas and went on our way.  

So, a very different blip to that which I intended, but I like to think we made several people happy by chatting with them.

“Ingredients for a terrific Christmas: 
Christ. 
Love for one another. 
Forgiveness. 
Generosity. 
Time. 
Music. 
Children’s laughter. 
Reminiscing with loved ones. 
Remembering those who are alone. 
The making of new memories.” 
Toni Sorenson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.