Chooking Blackbird Explained By Rattling Crow

I haven't ventured far today as I've been baking and getting my tree in. Jazzy dog and I went for a quick run round. It was unbelievably warm, I was in shirtsleeves and could feel the sun on my back.

This female blackbird in the large aluminium glasshouse block started chooking when she saw us but didn't fly away. At one point she was slithering down a roof support. I remember reading a very interesting Rattling Crow post on Twitter by Africa Gomez explaining blackbird vocalisations.

Africa says of chooking, "Low pitched, uttered with the beak closed. Anxiety call, mild alarm. Sometimes on its own, sometimes accelerating to the full-swing alarm call in flight. Flicks tail, horizontal body. To people, dogs, cats, etc.  Females use it when disturbed while looking for nest site or nest building. Also used when the bird is foraging in an unfamiliar situation where the bird feels insecure." Wonder if Mrs Blackie is looking prematurely for a nest site prompted by the unseasonal weather? :) 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.