Morning light

I only realised on Thursday evening that it would be wise to prebook Alhambra tickets, and when I did so only 9.30am tickets (or earlier) were available for the Nasrid Palace. Consequently, after an early start and a quick snack breakfast we were up on the Alhambra hill shortly after it got light, and we were in the Alcazaba fortress to witness the effects of the light coming over the side of the hill and catching the sides of buildings (see extras for some more wonderful light effects).

Wonderful, wonderful experience. The Nasrid Palace was just as sensuous an experience as promised (it was kind of the BBC to film an entire three part documentary series to cover our winter holiday) and I found myself beguiled by the patterns (see again extras).

The versions of the photos I am uploading are rather poor, as we don't have very good wifi in this hotel. If I get a better connection, I will try to replace the photographs.

The day was capped out with a great lunch sitting out in a square in the sunshine, and finally this evening some small tapas and a bottle of excellent red wine from the region in what appeared to be a tapas bar exclusively patronised by locals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.