Orthodox church of Ilomantsi

About 17 percent of the population in Ilomantsi are members of the Orthodox Church. That's quite a large percentage relatively as Lutheranism is clearly the largest religion in Finland. Large part of it is probably due to Ilomantsi's location as the eastern-most municipality in Finland (bordering Russia). Orthodox Christianity is more common in other municipalities in Eastern Finland as well compared to the rest of the country. The church building was built in 1892.

I had a bit of a fright this morning as my coffee maker malfunctioned. I switched off the apartment main switch before unplugging the coffee maker. The thing smelt like an electric fire wasn't too far away. It was a free gift from my Mom's friend. I can see why it was free. It did its job for a good while, though. I bought a new one after work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.