Percy Penguin

Yellow eyed penguin - hoiho (New Zealand native)

I named him Percival - but called him Percy just to be friendly.

Percival here has a lot to shout about.  You wouldn't believe the effort that went into scaling that rock!  They are so clumsy looking but in reality they are mean rock climbers.  They can scale almost vertical cliffs.

Whenever I get south of Christchurch I can't stay away from the Moeraki area.  There are three aspects that draw me back: the boulders, the penguins and the site of Blaze's cross.

I didn't plan on coming this far today, or even particularly in this direction.  The van just seems to know the way.  But I only came as far as the penguin colony today.  I'll pop down to the rocks in the morning and then on to Palmerston to have a coffee and some reminiscing at Blaze's cross - then from there I have no plans. 

I have two days to get to Lake Benmore and it's only 2 or 3 hours drive away so I could end up anywhere (or stay here for another night because I'm loving the sound of the sea).

This is Jasper's first trip south.  She has had a wonderful time.  After her experience travelling on Dave's knee yesterday she has decided that it's okay to travel on the seat - as long as I just put a blanket on it and not her actual bed.  Well silly me, up until now I've been putting her bed there, thinking that would be more comfortable.  

Now she's having a blast tied up outside the van.  Soaking up what little sun we've found today and all of the attention from everyone who walks past.  SHE knows she's beautiful and seems to have convinced all and sundry of it too.  SHE thinks everyone who goes past is her best friend. Life as a well loved dog is pretty good! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.