Possibly a juvenile Common redpoll

Help with identification would be welcome. By the shape of the beak this is in the finch or sparrow families. I've never seen a sparrow with such a streaked front, and this bird kept itself somewhat separate from the sparrows which dominate the feeding table. There is no clear red to its head or chest which is against it being a redpoll, yet no other finch-like bird has such a streaked front.

If this is a common redpoll, or something completely different, it will be the 58th different species I have photographed this year (in NZ; I also got 19 species in a few days in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney).

Also today, I have a good clear photo of a song thrush, and of a californian quail. Taken when we visited S' cousin's wife. Not the first photo of either for this year, so doesn't increase my count.

Gave mother-in-law her present today (we won't be up here on Christmas Day). She was touched and delighted with the book of my bird photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.