Winter Leaf Art

We awoke to a skiff of snow on this morning. Such a thing wouldn't usually be an Event around here, but we've had so little snow this winter that it kind of was.

I walked around with my camera for a few minutes just before the light came and admired the thin, white coating. I knew that as soon as the sun was out for long, it would take the tiny snow.

In walking down the drive way, I found it covered in leaf art, and I couldn't resist some photos. On the right is the real leaf. On the left is its shadow self: a brilliant manipulation of negative space. (Fans of the film The Dream Team may recognize the quote.)

By noon, the snow was gone. And then a fierce wind kicked up and the leaves disappeared too. They swirled up (not unlike Santa's reindeer: as dry leaves that before a hurricane fly, and all that) and scattered, taking their actual selves and their shadow selves away.

The soundtrack tune is an absolute favorite of mine, and I share it gleefully, hoping someone who has never heard it before will hear it now and fall in love with Joni Mitchell, as we all did. The song: Joni Mitchell, Urge for Going.

P.S. The bonus extra photo is Dexter, settling in for his nap on a Caturday night. It looks like he's asking, "What, Mama?" as I interrupt him for a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.