Wychway

By Clericus

A bit of excitement

Yes - I know this is a terrible picture. It's of my computer screen which makes a slightly fuzzy picture look even more fuzzy.

Let me explain.

I have a general interest in wildlife (which is why I do my bit of volunteering on nature reserves). But I'm certainly no expert. So yesterday, when I was called into the garden to see what looked like a 'lizard', of course I grabbed my camera. Clearly this is a newt in a crevice in the rockery - almost inaccessible. I took some quick shots which, I am ashamed to say, were not perfect. There are only three British newts. The most likely seemed to be a Palmate newt but the 'official' website says it is rare in the Midlands, found in only one main place some distance from us.

But the picture was good enough to upload to a special wildlife recording website with details. All very scientific.

I see now that our discovery in the garden has been officially verified 4 times!

Hence the excitement. Please forgive the need to use this method to blip yesterday's picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.