ExBeeb

By Exbeeb

Murky Mersea Sky

On Mersea island today - it really is an island but is connected to the mainland by a causeway. There are big warning signs to not cross when the water covers the road, so there must be a prospect of being cut off?!

It's a very boaty area. I reckon one in every four houses had a boat on the drive and the rest probably have them moored somewhere around the island. Most of the houses are very nice, in fact I could see myself retiring here:) On the south facing shore, there is a long line of beach huts - all identical, except for their colours. If the sun had been out I would have blipped them - but then, as they seem to appear on all sorts of publicity material in these parts perhaps not.

Altogether a very calm friendly place with the only dark image being the, now defunct nuclear power stations which are visible across the estuary on Denghie island. I wonder if the buildings will stay forever or if they will dismantle them completely?

Oh, by the way, this is the Thames Barge called Dawn and in the foreground I think are some old oyster beds. West Mersea is internationally famous for oysters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.