But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Derelict Sunday.

My contribution to Derelict Sunday, hosted today by Maisiebeth, is this poppy seed head, discovered in the garden a few days ago, slightly worse for wear.
I find it rather reminiscent of the Buckminsterfullerene molecule (or bucky-ball) (chemically 60 carbon atoms) and named after the architect and inventor of the geodesic dome, Richard Buckminster Fuller. The dome had a certain appeal some years ago in the design of greenhouses and is now the standard shape of a football.

I believe that it will soon see a new lease of life in its chemical form as a deliverer of drugs whereby a single molecule is trapped inside the C60 molecule to be released when it arrives at the target tissue, an example of the nano-particles of which holds so much fear for a certain royal personage. I won't say any more about it as I am in serious danger of being horribly wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.