Rain Gauge

Last night we had another deluge of rain. 70mm in fact (if you can read the rain gauge) which brings the total to 120mm since Sunday. I know there are folks around the world that would scoff at that kind of rain total, but here in Brisbane it a reasonably unusual event especially considering that we have been in drought for the past 7 years. It has really compounded the cleanup efforts from the big storm on Sunday night. There are some poor people who have lost everything and those that could salvage their belongings have been unable to dry them out.

I find all this inclement weather quite fascinating.

Thankfully it is sunny, hot and humid today.

But...

The predictions are for more storms and heavy rain again tonight. At least our dams are filling up.

Hopefully it will be calm and sunny on the weekend. That way I can go and do some fishing.

Driving home last night was interesting. I took Jo's little car so she could use mine to visit her father. We knew it was going to rain and I feel better using the car that is more likely to break down. Not that Jo's little car would break down on me. When I drove home at 10pm it was belting down with rain. Jo's car is very little and very light so we did have one little incident of aquaplaning on the motorway. I was worried about the distributor getting wet. As it turned out, I had no need to worry. In fact, I think Babydoll enjoyed the outing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.