Wynnum Wading Pool

This fellow is soaking up the suns rays in the recently renovated Wynnum Wading Pool. I suspect he hasn't seen the sun for a while. He was nice enough to let me take his picture when I asked.

So here we are in wonderful Wynnum on a bright, hot and sunny day while on the other side of town emergency services are cleaning up after yet another massive storm. Some of the suburbs devastated on Sunday were hit again causing more damage. The inner city bypass tunnel pumps failed and now the tunnel has 11 million litres of water going nowhere fast. Some poor taxi driver didn't see the water in time and almost completely submerged his vehicle. With the tunnel flooded and many road closures, the city is currently in gridlock.

There have been landslides, lightning strikes, fallen trees and fallen powerlines. On top of that there have been two confirmed deaths, both caused by people trying to cross flooded creeks in their cars.

The new danger today is kids playing in flooded water. As I said before it is fine and hot today and who could blame kids for wanting to go swimming. Radio and TV stations are reminding parents to supervise their kids.

More storms are predicted for tonight.

I went and did my written learners test for my truck licence this morning. Yesterdays lesson left me wondering if I have what it takes. My test is booked for the 15th of next month so I had better get cracking.

Late Edit
In the last hour or so another massive storm passed through Brisbane. I took this photo from the carpark at work as it headed out to sea. Masses of rain and damaging winds. Everything is quiet now but I can hear sirens from emergency services all over the place. The road outside my work was a literally a river but it receded quite quickly. I phoned Jo when it had all passed over and she seems to think we didn't get any damage even though Manly was right in the centre of the Storm. I will inspect when I get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.