My Angle

By myangle

That Flamin' Bike!

1.3sec, f10, 400ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 18mm, Canon 350D

When I got home tonight I took the bike for a quick ride. It went like crap at first then came good. That isn't good enough so I came home and had a think. How do I fix it?

For those non-mechanical types this might get a bit boring.

For mechanical types, well, laugh while I try to explain what is going on.

I fit somewhere in between mechanical and non-mechanical; I have lots of nice tools but nothing ever gets fixed.

OK. The bike runs fine some of the time and then suddenly loses power. It has a twin carby. One is mechanically controlled and the other works on a vacuum. I rebuilt the top end of the engine. OK. I have cleaned and set the carby at least a dozen times. OK...

So after tonights ride I took the seat off to have a look at the airbox. It has been cut to let more air in by the previous owner (my brother-in-law). Tomorrow I am going to seal up the extra air intake. My theory is that a carby that works partly on a vacuum must need the right amount of air going into it. Too much will affect the vacuum.

More on that another day.

And sorry for the boring blip about bikes.

I did have a fun blip for tonight but decided to save it for another day. This was after all a significant event in my day and something I wanted to write about.

Motorbike blips. Only one today. This is what I was like as a youngster.
Red

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.