Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Country church in the city

You all will know my fondness for little country churches.  I think that when it was built - a very long time ago - it was constructed like a stone built barn of the sort the local people presumably were used to erecting.  It stood next to the village pond (which is still there, though half of it has been sliced through by the road).  I also assume it had a comfortable sized churchyard and maybe a cow or two hanging heads over the fence, but now there are only 3 or 4 metres of green around it, the houses press so close.  For those of you who know Winchester, it's the church of St Matthew in Weeke.

So here it is, quiet in the sunshine, another of my images for Christmas.  We had wild patches of rain as well as sun today, but it was lovely to see some brightness.

Have a good Sunday evening.  I guess quite a few of you will already be off work and away for the hols, but for those who have to work, I hope it goes well - and quickly  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.