London show set up

Left the house at half 9 to go to London.
We got there just to hear Alex say the vans were running late so we walked to the Tate and sat and had lunch slash had a quick look round an exhibition.

When we got back we had the mammoth task of unloading the vans and carrying everyones pieces to their spaces. My goodness, everyone was dying... there are 4 floors all double flights of stairs, no lifts and we were carrying the heaviest things up them. I think the worst things I had to carry where a kitchen table and a box of grass/plants (so heavy). There was just a constant stream of people stuck along all the stairs and corridors. It was all eventually done. We had another quick break and no one really minded sitting in the rain.

We then got told to go to our designated rooms and unpack our work and start sorting out space... yeah, I wasn't on the list and I couldn't find my work for ages. I found it eventually and got told it wasn't going where it was and had to wait for a space. Eventually got told to go on the 4th floor... It is such a cool space. Actually the whole building is amazing, it is like my dream to ever exhibit in somewhere like this. All the walls are peeling or graffitied and half the rooms don't have lighting. I half sorted out my pieces by the end of the day, I think they are looking quite sick in their space.

More again tomorrow. Man this is going to be tiring.

PS. Just remember that on the way home in the drizzle we heard a big thud/crash from around the corner. Rosie and I were like Wow but decided it probably wasn't anything until we walked a few steps round the corner to see and old guy had gone up the curb, skimmed a metal post and crashed straight into the shop window! The man wasn't hurt but looked stunned and there were a few people just phoning police etc. so we didn't hang around. Mental!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.