TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Christmas Cookie Extravaganza!

Today was the day of my annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Cookie Baking Extravaganza. I have been practicing this particular Holiday tradition with  my youngest daughter for a few years now and it's something that I really look forward to (even though I always end up doing the lion's share of the work). 
I always plan on baking 3 or 4 different varieties of cookies but by the time it is all said and done, we are lucky to finish two. 
Truth is my daughter enjoys eating cookies much more than she enjoys actually baking them, so this year I dialed back my expectations and chose simply sugar and no-bake varieties. I have to say they turned out pretty well, even though the dog ate 1/4 of the organic butter that was earmarked for the sweets, as well as sneaking at least 2 of the cookies off the cooling counter before he was caught and banished from the kitchen.
All in all it was a successful day and I think I can safely say that great fun was had by bakers and lurkers alike. What they say really is true...the best part about the Holiday season isn't the presents, it's the presence.

Baking Christmas cookies with you
nothing better I'd rather do
than sharing moments so dear
and having you right here.


First we mix up the batter
what flavor doesn't matter.
Then we roll them out nice and flat
use the cookie cutters, just like that.


Watch them carefully while they bake
throwing flour on each other, a mess we make.
Finally after they cool on the rack
we apply icing on there back.


Sprinkles and colored sugar to decorate.
How many now have you ate?
These are for our Christmas guest
who deserves our very best.


But no one will ever know this one
making Christmas cookies with you is so much fun.


~ Teresa, Baking Christmas Cookies With You

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.