Doughnuts ahoy!

A tricky day. Lots to do. Not enough time.

2-3 weeks ago, once the closure of the Forth Road Bridge "indefinitely" had been announced, I had to figure out how to get myself from home to Edinburgh Airport in time for checkin at 8:30 - 9am for my flight to Munich tomorrow.

Transport was "in chaos" at the time, with the commuter rush hour the worst affected time. After a bit of research and head scratching, I decided  the most reliable (and so stress free) way was to stay tonight in an Edinburgh hotel convenient for the airport after travelling from home by train.

I got the Novotel at Edinburgh Park for £36 (no breakfast, but coffee is all I need at 8am). It's the 4th Novotel I've stayed in this year, so I know that's a real bargain. I suspect it's a business travel type place, and so very quiet this week.

The mid afternoon train was perfect. It connected nicely with a tram at Haymarket. The hotel is a 200m walk from the tram stop. The hotel upgraded me the the executive floor as I'm a Novotel "regular".

One little glitch however... this morning it was announced that the bridge will re-open at 6am tomorrow after completion of repairs!

Well I wasn't to know.

PS - top tip. From the 5th floor you get a great view of Tesco, Krispy Kreme Doughnut and the Edinburgh Bypass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.