MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Windy City Welcome

I nearly started crying in Charlotte again. I did so well on the flight out of Vitória and the long flight from Rio. At 7:30am, after whipping through customs in maybe 10 minutes, I decided to stop for a caramel apple at Rocky Mt. Chocolate Factory. It's been a while, and an apple's not a bad breakfast right?

But as I entered the store, the woman working there said, "Good morning!"

"Bo... Good morning" I faltered.

And as I went to pay, I thought in my head "Posso pagar com credito?" but knew I couldn't ask her that. A great sadness ran through me, which I had to swallow down when she asked for ID. ID?! But they NEVER check ID!

I arrived in Chicago without problems, but had to wait two hours for the bus to Madison. About 30min before the bus left, a nasty wind sprung up, and as I loaded my things in the side of the bus, I almost couldn't reach the door from it's force- and I nearly had the glasses blown from my face. A misty rain crossed with perhaps a fine hail started up and when I finally made it to the door, the driver informed us he would not be going anywhere. Fine in my opinion, because the bus was shaking violently and we were just parked there.

But low and behold, not ten minutes later, the wind died. We drove off and after an hour long nap, I awoke at the WI border to a bright hot sun bringing with it 102°F (39C) temps. Mom, Dad, and my baby brother met me at a park and ride and drove me off to my first Culver's in 6 months, followed by a visit with Grandma and some pool time. And, of course, REAL cheese and delicious caipirinhas. One of my 5 bottles is half gone already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.