MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Crescer de Sol

Just to make sure I typed the title correctly, I google translated the phrase and came up with English, "Growing in the Sun." How proper.

Daniel, Gabriel, Coralie, and I were the last of the party survivors. And much like my first weekend in Vitória, I stayed up all night at Los Putos, saw the sun rise from Praia do Camburi and went to the farmer's market in Jardim da Penha. There's a surprising number of people out shopping that early in the morning, though they looked more awake than us in our zombie hangovers. We had fun watching the sunrise and catching scary-looking invertebrates from their bubbly homes in the sand along the wave breaks.

How lucky I have been! To find this IGERT program out of Pitt, to move to Vitória, and to live with Coralie (through whom I met all of these other wonderful people!) I had a great send-off at Los Putos, though Coralie, Daniel, and I found ourselves in tears at the airport this evening. (Finalmente, tava chorando.) How tragic that life must continue onward, yet I have great faith that I will love all the moments of my future and that I will return to this beautiful country and see these wonderful people again!

Expect decompression posts this week, summaries, thoughts, and worries.
In the course of 48 hours, I will have traveled about 10,000km (6,200mi) by plane and nearly 400km (250mi) by car and bus. A different world, but still the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.