My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Unknown Beauty.......................

.........................I hate name tags on plants! I always intend to make a note of the name of any new plant I buy or are given! Do I - NO. I really am so disorganised.
I planted this rose bush about 7 or 8 years ago, it has been moved 3 times, produces loads of the sweetest, pale pink double blooms you could imagine and I love it. It grows only just over 2ft high, has glossy leaves, no blackspot and has a very tidy habit. If any one has any ideas, please enlighten me.

The phrase "sub rosa" (meaning under the rose) came from the fact that the Romans hung roses over their meeting tables
which indicated that any subject discussed at that meeting was strictly confidential and should not be revealed to any other person or persons.

And I will make thee beds of roses
And a thousand fragrant posies,
A cup of flowers and a kirtle
Embroidered all with leaves of myrtle

.
Christopher Marlowe
around 1550s/60s

To all blippers in the USA - Happy Independence Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.