Photographic musings

By Wheeliebloke

Empty

What can I take a pic of that's empty? Bottle? Wine glass? Davy's head? No, he's not here. Eeerrrmm... I spied my fruit bowl and thought of a banana skin or tangerine peel... I then noticed the empty Celebrations carton, complete with empty wrappers. Sorted. I've lately been playing with some off camera flash but I had the idea of controlling the light so that the inside of the carton was illuminated but not everything else. Bring on the homemade snoot. a piece of paper with a black scarf around the outside. This is something that i've never tried before but I'm aware of the technique. Photography is all about controlling light, isn't it? I don't have masses of kit to hold my flash, camera, reflectors (tin foil) etc so the set up is very Heath Robinson, but it works...kinda. I've added an extra of the set up, just for interest. Assuming that you are interested, of course. Excuse the state of my table, this has lately become my photographic workshop; there are lenses all over it and other props I've photographed or had the idea to lately. It's all good fun. 

Oh by the way, if anyone has any pointers/tips on controlling light, feel free to comment them please. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.