CHRISTMAS ABSTRACT

After a beautiful day yesterday, and a lovely evening with some of our family, we woke this morning to the sound of rain hammering on our bedroom window;  it’s cold, grey and not looking very Christmassy.  I thought of various friends who have to travel over these coming few days and pray they will safe journeys.

Obviously not a day to be going outside taking photographs, so this beautiful Poinsettia, given to me last week by my lovely hairdresser, Lisa, was just right.  I played around with it and here is a kaleidoscope that fits the bill for me for Abstract Thursday.

I shall soon be putting on one of my Christmas CDs and making mince pies - we are very fortunate in that we are going over to our son and daughter-in-law’s for Christmas Day lunch, so I don’t have to worry about anything for tomorrow.  

Whilst working, I will also be thinking of friends and neighbours who are not well and praying for a speedy return to good health for them, giving thanks for good news after my hospital visit on Tuesday.  

I hope to visit a friend in hospital later today, so will have quite a busy day.  Even if the weather isn’t that good, I will be remembering that “Jesus is the Reason for the Season” and looking forward not only to listening to Carols from King’s College, Cambridge on the radio this afternoon, but also to visiting friends for a meal this evening.  We are truly blessed.

Mr. HCB and I wish you all a very Happy and Peaceful Christmas.  Thank you for your support throughout the year and thank you for your kind comments about my daffodils yesterday.  I just hope this rain doesn’t batter them down!

One carol I love to sing - and I know this is a favourite of Pixelfoto, is It Came Upon the Midnight Clear - this is the third verse, written in 1849 - if only we could all hear the love-song the angels will sing this Christmas.

Yet with the woes of sin and strife
The world has suffered long;
Beneath the angel-strain have rolled
Two thousand years of wrong;
And man at war with man, hears not
The love song which they bring
O hush the noise, ye men of strife,
And hear the angels sing.
Edmund Hamilton Sears (1810-1876)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.